Baby Don’t Hurt Me, Don’t Hurt Me, No More

Dr. T and the Women, How To Lose A Guy in 10 Days, Alex and Emma, Raising Helen, You, Me, and Dupree, Fool’s Gold, My Best Friend’s Girl, Bride Wars, Something Borrowed (my review of this disaster here).  What do these nine girly flicks all have in common?  You get a gold star if you guessed THEY ARE ALL COMPLETE, UTTER RUBBISH.

I need to clarify my rant and state that I like Kate Hudson a lot – she seems like somebody who’d be the most kickass BFF.  I honestly think she’s a good actress.  She was Penny Lane!  The Skeleton Key was really cool!  And Almost Famous is wonderful!  (Silence! if you’re a hater)  Any interview or article I’ve read states that she’s awesome, charming, lights up a room, etc.  Her mom is GOLDIE HAWN.  Her step-dad is KURT RUSSELL.  She marries and spews the spawn of ROCK STARS.  She needs no money.  She can essentially do whatever, whenever, and whoever, she wants.  And this is my problem with her:  Why does she “WANT” to make films like this?  Is she like the rest of the braindead, corn-fed masses, who enjoy these horrific romantic comedies?  Does no one offer her any worthwhile roles? Is her taste in film truly this wretched??  I would have to believe that growing up in a Hollywood family, surrounded by movies, you’d appreciate the finer things in life, and that would carry over to films.  Her filmography is truly mystifying.

She’s better than the schlock she shills, and I realize I shouldn’t take personal offense to her abysmal resume, but it all seems so needless.  It causes me great sadness to see people fail to live up to their potential.  Oh well, she probably could give two shits, and just laughs all the way to the bank.  Either way, we’re the ones who suffer, being forced at gun-point, as we all are, to watch defecation like Bride Wars.

~Annie

One thought on “Baby Don’t Hurt Me, Don’t Hurt Me, No More

Leave a Reply

