Oh, But Am I Ever Gonna See My Wedding Day

Bridesmaids is, without a doubt, one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen (I’ma go ahead and GUSH).  I gave it a full 5 stars on Netflix, which, according to my reviewing history, only happens 9.8% of the time.  I don’t hand this shit out willy-nilly.  Truly, for almost the entire film, I was laughing, HARD.  Like, hanging out of my chair with my head in my hands, hard.

The story centers around Annie (Kristen Wiig), who is unlucky, self-sabotaging, sweet, broke, pathetic, adorable, a loser, someone I would never want to know and someone I would want to be best friends with, all at the same time.  She lives with some DISTURBING Brits, has a shit job, shit car, shit life, but an awesome childhood best friend, Lillian, who is about to marry the wealthy Dougie, and enter into a life of country clubs and custom-made wedding dresses from Paris.  Once the wedding party, which consists of four random, totally awesome actresses, meets up, the lunacy commences.

Even though Annie is happy for Lillian, the massive upheaval in lifestyle and pressure of being a maid of honor and all the duties that come along with it prove to be too much for her to handle.  Each event, whether it’s dress shopping, the shower, or bachelorette party, is set ablaze and burned down to the ground by Annie.  She means well, but is unable to deliver.  So, you sympathize and relate, and cringe until you’re ready to heave.

The side characters are raucous, genius, and so marvelous…my only complaint with the entire film is that you don’t get to spend more time with a few of them.  Jon Hamm has NEVER been so skeezy…I couldn’t imagine wanting to kick him out of bed until he whines,  “Oh, I really really want you to go home, but don’t know how to say it without sounding like a dick.”  Rose Byrne is pitch-perfect as a flawless, rich, gorgeous, attention-hog.  You love to hate her.  The rest of the bridesmaids are all amazing – Erin from The Office as a newlywed square, Clementine from Reno 911! as a horny housewife, and Sookie from Gilmore Girls as a butch oddball freak who had some of the grossest, weirdest scenes ever, and ROCKED them.

There’s also a little side kinda-love story for Annie, that succeeded in giving me that special “aw shucks” feeling.  She meets a charming, slightly disheveled Irish cop who obviously digs her and it’s terribly painful to watch as she rebuffs him, due to her inability to not destroy everything in her life.

Wiig co-wrote the screenplay with Annie Mumolo (who played the other terrified-of-flying passenger in the RIDONKULOUS plane scene), in something like a weekend.  Seriously, I’m not worthy – these chicks are my idols.  They have made it okay to say fuck, cunt, shit, and also to stage an INSANE bathroom/food poisoning scene…harkening back to the days of Dumb and Dumber, which was child’s play compared to what befalls these ladies.

I hate to say it, but I’ve never seen a film like this, where women were portrayed as absolutely hilarious as they can be, and it felt more realistic than trash like The Sweetest Thing.  This was funnier than The Hangover (yep); from the first scene (I won’t spoil) I knew I was in for something different.  There was an interview in Entertainment Weekly recently and Maya Rudolph said something to the effect of, I wish movies like this were normal, and nobody would make a big deal out of a movie actually being funny with women in it.  Hear HEAR, mother f***er.

And OMG WILSON PHILLIPS IS IN IT.  Hold on for one more day, baby!

~Annie (loving my name right now)

4 thoughts on “Oh, But Am I Ever Gonna See My Wedding Day

  1. Pingback: Lill & Jill Response | ravingmadscientists

  2. Pingback: Our Favorite Flicks of 2011 | ravingmadscientists

  3. Pingback: Horrible Bosses (2011) Movie Review

  4. Pingback: You’re Just A Step On the Boss Man’s Ladder | ravingmadscientists

Leave a Reply

