I Love You More Today Than Yesterday

There’s nothing like a comedy that gets funnier the MORE you watch it.  It’s the gift that keeps on givin’.  My co-blogger posted a list of her favorite repeat-viewing comedic flicks, so now it’s my turn.  I think the biggest clue that you’re in the midst of a movie like this is when you can predict the dialogue and just sit, in anticipation, for your favorite moment or line.  Wait for it… “insert favorite moment here”…and it’s always better than you remember.

Forgetting Sarah Marshall:  When I saw this in the theater, inexplicably, I found it to be mediocre.  Then, through the magic of persistent airings on FX and HBO, and the process of osmosis, I kept catching bits and pieces over and over again.  All those hilarious nuggets nestled inside my brain, and I now find it to be genius.  I could watch Jason Segel scream “You SHALL NOT PASS!”, or almost anything Russell Brand says, on repeat.  Line I always wait for (although there are SO MANY):  “Take my eyes, but not the shirt!”

The 40-Year Old Virgin:  I loved this from the start, but once I caught the unrated DVD version, I could never go back.  Such a classic, I mean, my god…no other film is about this subject matter.  Steve Carell is so insanely likeable, and anywhere Paul Rudd is, I’d like to be as well.  While this is rauncho-rific, it’s also terribly sweet, and has a kind of precious message.  Line I wait for:  “If I have to hear ‘Yamo Be There’ one more time, I’m going to ‘Yamo’ burn this place to the ground.”

Galaxy Quest:  One of my all time faves; I’m sure it’ll end up on another list someday.  I definitely love it more and more every time I see it – I’m powerless against a random TBS airing.  Doesn’t hurt that I’m a Trekkie, or Trekker if you prefer (I don’t). This film asks the question, what if aliens were real and they watched radio signals of sci-fi shows and modeled their culture after those episodes?  One of the most ridiculous premises ever but GOD does it work, and marvelously.  The cast is pitch-perfect, the writing is sharp and funny, and it manages to lampoon sci-fi legacies like Star Trek while simultaneously paying them tribute.  Line I wait for: (This was my cell phone ringer for a while – I love this line so) “It’s an alien planet!  Is there air?  You don’t know!”

Sideways:  This is kind of a dramedy, but is mostly full of hilarity.  Sure it’s the painful, truthful kind, but no matter.  Every time I watch poor Miles and Jack (the first-rate Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church) stagger through Napa valley for a week-long bachelor buddy trip before Jack’s wedding, I cringe, laugh and get a bit misty eyed, more-so than I did with any previous viewing.  Even tho it’s clichéd (yet kills me every time because of Giamatti’s delivery), the line I wait for is:  “I am NOT drinking any fucking Merlot!”

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation:  Maybe it’s because we watch this every single Christmas (like the rest of the country, I’m sure), but it never gets old.  Ever.  Chevy Chase is the 80s version of Ryan Reynolds.  His dry charm mixed with Randy Quaid’s insanity is an irresistible delight.  Line I wait for:  “Take a look around here, Ellen.  We’re at the threshold of hell.”

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy:  I actually disliked this when I first saw it, but just like Sarah Marshall, I repeatedly caught snippets, and fell in love (even though my co-pilot doesn’t agree with me on this one).  Will Ferrell can sometimes bother me in a dose that’s too large and pompous, and while Ron Burgundy is JUST THAT, the supporting cast is all so zany and deranged, their chemistry makes the Burgundy arrogance enjoyable.  Line I wait for:  “I’m gonna punch you in the ovary, that’s what I’m gonna do.  A straight shot.  Right to the babymaker.”

😉 A.

2 thoughts on “I Love You More Today Than Yesterday

  1. Pingback: Now I Know How Forever Feels | ravingmadscientists

Leave a Reply

