Killing Me Softly With His Song

I saw Bill Maher live the other night and, though I didn’t believe it was possible, I love him even more now.  He says the things I feel and try so hard to articulate but for which, I can’t ever find the right words.  Repeatedly throughout his stand-up, he pieced together the incoherent thoughts in my head with such razor sharp wit and biting sarcasm, I damn near came in my capris.

I admit I do not find him attractive, but his intelligence and poignant, scathing humor literally turn me on.  I watch his show weekly and find myself, over and over, shouting at the TV: “Finally!  Someone is saying what I’ve been thinking!”  He’s so damn clever, so quick, so sharp, so, so…so funny.  I regularly watch his show, Real Time With Bill Maher, on HBO and I admit his opening monologues often leave something to be desired.  Which made me mildly nervous that his stand up would be the same.  Or, like so many other comedians who recycle material, I feared it would consist mostly of the shtick I hear from him every Friday night.  Au contraire, mon ami, he rocked the muthaf**kin house.

The hour-and-a-half show was 80% politics, 15% religion, 5% relationships/sex and 100% hilarious.  If you’re a godless liberal who bases your opinions on facts (those things that are scientifically sound) like myself, check him out.  You’ll love him.  He basically tries to get people to use their brains.  You know, actually think about the world around you and how you fit into it.  Research issues from every perspective before forming a solid opinion about them, back up what you say with factual data, not fairy tales or blind ignorance.  Pull your goddamn head out of the sand and take a hard, clear look around.  And most of all, be honest.  I know Maher offends tons of people -conservatives, believers of any religion, Republicans, members of the Tea Party, the extremely wealthy who want to hoard their money, the bleeding hearts on the far left- but what I admire most about him is that he refuses to placate or pander to anyone.  He says exactly what he means.  Like it or not, at least you always know what he genuinely thinks.  While I don’t always agree with the things he says (though I usually do), I am always certain he’s not bullshitting me.

~Nikki

4 thoughts on “Killing Me Softly With His Song

  1. Couldn’t agree more… Maher’s the shit, and I now know I must add “seeing him live” to my list of things to do before giving up on the human race altogether.

  2. I, too , love Bill Maher. Love that he us unafraid, in this pc world, to speak the obvious
    Truth!! I enjoy your blog…..
    Have you ever listened to the score from “Brokeback Mountain”? Exquisitely Beautiful!

    Thanks, Martha

Leave a Reply

