The Dead Start To Walk In Their Masquerade

Another Labor Day has come and gone, my friends, marking the unofficial end to sweet summertime.  I would be devastated were it not for my intense, burning love of what follows.  This is why fall trumps all seasons:

    • Fall colors – by far, the boldest, most stunning in the spectrum
    • The non-humid, not-hot-but-not-cold sweatshirt weather
    • Halloween
    • All things related to Halloween, i.e., the plethora of new horror movies released in theaters, scary movie marathons on TV, unabashed candy-eating, trick-or-treaters, costume parties, haunted hayrides/houses, pumpkin carving, pumpkin seed eating, macabre decorations (including creepy spiderwebs)
    • sweaters
    • It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown
    • the return of the Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks
    • the pumpkin smoothie at Robeks
    • oh screw it, everything pumpkin flavored
    • the start of new seasons of TV shows
    • 3rd Rock From The Sun reruns (I own all 6 seasons on DVD but will only watch them in the fall; any other time just doesn’t feel right)
    • pre-holiday excitement
    • I was born in the fall (shout out to all my fellow Libras!)
    • the wicked summer mosquitoes finally wither and die
    • my neighborhood perpetually smells of woodsmoke (Mmmm, camping)
    • Did I mention pumpkins?

~Nikki