Message To Adam Sandler: You’ve Peaked, It’s Over…Please, Please Stop

Have you seen previews for the latest in the horrific onslaught of miserable Happy Madison movies, gaggingly entitled Jack and Jill?  Go ahead.  Give it a look…

Kind of makes you wish for the assassination of Adam Sandler, doesn’t it?  Why couldn’t he have found some egg-headed, dark-haired actress to play his sister?  Casting yourself in both leads of a comedy crosses a line, Adam.  I hope you know there is no turning back.

You don’t know how it pains me to say these things.  Really.  I once LOVED Adam Sandler with an unhealthy passion and still, after the slew of steaming pig manure including (but certainly not limited to) You Don’t Mess With The Zohan, Grown Ups, and Just Go With It, I just want so badly for him to be the man we all know he could be.  You know the guy.  The one who wrote Big Daddy.  The guy who charmed us nearly to tears as Robbie Hart in The Wedding Singer and made us fall in love with him over and over again in 50 First Dates.  Whatever happened to that guy?  I miss that guy.

I know what you’re going to say.  His humor has always been goofy and cheesy and juvenile.  Billy Madison proves it, right?  Well…sort of.  Yes, his comedy has always showcased his silly adolescent side but in his best movies, it was balanced evenly with the heartfelt and endearing.  And the characters in those flicks were people we cared about and rooted for like they were close, personal friends of ours.  Now, in flicks like Zookeeper and the most recent box office bomb, Bucky Larson: Born To Be A Star, there is nothing BUT the absurdities and cheap jokes.  The characters are boring and stupid and the story lines aren’t interesting enough to give a crap about.

And, let’s face it, we’ve all gotten older.  Sandler included.  His audience isn’t made up of teenagers anymore.  We’re in our 30s now and we want more substance to the plots and characters we could actually relate to and humor that may be a bit silly but is also SMART.  You can’t appeal to the kids of today, Mr. Sandler.  They’re busy being entertained by Justin Bieber and the Twilight kids.  Those of us who’ve watched you since your SNL days have aged right along with you.  We’ve finished high school, and college, and gotten careers and families and we want more from you.  Please.  For the love of everything that is holy, give us something better or retire and spend the rest of your days basking in the life of the multimillionaire that we’ve helped you become.

-N.

11 thoughts on “Message To Adam Sandler: You’ve Peaked, It’s Over…Please, Please Stop

  1. I thought I was just an old fart with no sense of humor. When I saw Adam’s latest trailer I couldn’t believe that even a trailer could look bad. Nice to know I’m in good company. But at least Adam Sandler had a time when he was funny and entertaining. Nicholas Cage never has. he stunk right out of the gate.

  2. God this makes me so sad! I loved Adam Sandler. Like you said, we grew up watching him on SNL. It feels like saying he needs to retire and that he’s not as funny anymore is just an admission that I’M getting old. I want to go back to those youthful days! I want to revel in the absurd fart jokes and stupidly funny comedy albums he released back in the 90’s. Ugh, now I’m depressed… Great post though. And unfortunately, you are absolutely and unequivically correct. It’s time to let it go Sandler.

  3. I have to disagree with Jennifer Anniston and Nicolas Cage. Personally, this movie is just the same as his other stuff – just “kind of funny”.

    As for Justin Timberlake, I mostly agree. But, I do think he played a good role in “The Social Network” and “In Time” could also be a good one (hard to tell at this time, for me), but that’s about it.

    I guess it’s a matter of what we all consider to be “funny”.

  4. I got a few chuckles from the trailer. Although, the “Adam Sandler Sister” copy thing is going a bit too far – his sister looks stupid.

    I’ve never been a big Adam Sandler fan, but this is similar to The Nutty Professor. I think much of Adam Sandlers humor is just stupid, but I get a few chuckles (not laughs) here and there.

    I’m indifferent, but I probably won’t see it. The trailer was enough for me.

  5. wow. i really disagree.
    not that i’m saying he’s the funniest dude in the industry, but i can name probably dozens of actors/actresses i wish would go away (jennifer aniston being at the top of the list!)
    i haven’t seen all his films (couldn’t sit through “click”, wasn’t interested in “bedtime stories”) but even when they are bad, there are a few laughs here and there. and this jack and jill thing, while it does sound lame… at least he’s doing something a little different than the norm.
    anyhoo… tell nicolas cage to go away, or frikkin justin timberlake. i still cherish my sandler lol!!
    (can you delete the other comment, wordpress was acting screwy and wouldn’t let me log in under my user name… thanks!)

    • I could not agree more as far as Nicolas Cage is concerned. And I wish I could say that I enjoy Sandler’s flicks, but I really don’t anymore. Grown Ups was literally unwatchable and Just Go With It was so bad, I felt embarrassed for everyone in it as I was watching it. And this new one doesn’t really look that different to me. The whole man-dressed-as-woman thing has been done a dozen times and I’m sure the story will be just like all his others, in which a rich dude out of touch with his family reconnects and finds happiness again. I guess what makes it worse is that he’s capable of so much more.

      Here’s to the retirement of Nicolas Cage!
      Thanks,
      Nikki

Leave a Reply

