Have Some Sympathy, Have Some Taste (Halloween Series Part 3)

You all know I adore Halloween and nearly everything it involves but today I thought I’d share with you a few things Halloween-related that really get under my skin:

  • People who dress their pets in Halloween costumes (Full disclosure: I hate pets dressed in any clothing.  They are animals, not humans.  They have fur, for fuck’s sake.)
  • Any trick-or-treaters over the age of 17.  If you have a full-time job and/or kids of your own, you’re too old to ask strangers for candy.
  • Teenagers who put zero effort into their costumes but still come to your door with an empty pillowcase asking for candy.  Black clothes and your dad’s hat do NOT constitute a Halloween costume.  You have to exert some effort to earn your Twix.
  • Absurdly overpriced but cheap-as-shit adult costumes.  Even the rentals, which are pretty awesome sometimes, are outrageously expensive.
  • Fanatics who insist on lecturing me about the innate evil of Halloween and how I should be careful or I could end up on the wrong side in the hereafter.  Right…’cause celebrating Halloween is what’s going to do me in.
  • The inevitable bellyache I get from eating piles of roasted pumpkin seeds.  Why can’t I stop?!
  • People in my neighborhood who hand out tiny toothpastes and toothbrushes instead of candy.  Seriously?  (Note: Individual packets of raisins and/or trail mix are tolerable but still annoying.)

What Halloween-inspired pet peeves irk you the most?

~Nikki

4 thoughts on “Have Some Sympathy, Have Some Taste (Halloween Series Part 3)

  1. I agree with all yours and I’ll add
    •Neighbors telling me I should take down my bloody dripping skeleton decorations and plug in
    some silly blowup witch that looks like she ate one too many frog wort burritos. Then have their
    kids come by for candy anyway.

  2. I mostly agree, but yes, if my dog would tolerate I tiny costume then there would be one more dog in this world in a tiny costume. Sweaters are, however, the devil’s work.

    Neptunemonkey

Leave a Reply

