What I Choose Is My Choice

You all know I’m a book nerd, or as I prefer to call myself, a lover of literature.  Reading, in my opinion, is not just one of the many forms of entertainment in this world, but a vital, essential part of the human experience.  And not just the mandatory reading required for day-to-day living (i.e., textbooks, operating manuals, traffic signs, etc.), but reading novels, memoirs, short stories, poems, song lyrics, novellas, graphic novels – storytelling in all its lovely forms.

I’m currently a quarter of the way through Zone One, a post-apocalyptic novel about a member of a sweeping unit in Manhattan out to rid the island of “skels” – zombies, basically, that will turn or kill whomever they encounter.  Though I love a good zombie movie, I admit I’ve never before read a book in which zombies were a part of reality but this one peaked my interest because it’s been described as a literary zombie novel.  And I tend to read more works of literary fiction than any other genre.  I do read the occasional memoir, thriller and Young Adult novel, but literary fiction is what I always return to.  I know there are plenty of folks out there who criticize literary fiction novelists for taking themselves and their stories too seriously, for being too artsy, too wordy, too damn heavy.  Some even say they’re the snobs of the world of literature.  On the other hand, fans of literary fiction complain that mystery books, courtroom dramas, romance novels and crime thrillers are too predictable, too formulaic in their telling.  While I think each side has its valid points, I think it boils down to nothing other than personal taste.

I prefer literary fiction because I am a lover of language.  I don’t want simply to read a story; I want to be dazzled by the creative use of words, by pretty adjectives and stunning sentence structure.  Symbolism, alliteration, metaphor, imagery – they all have their place in literature, as far as I’m concerned, and the writers who utilize them most effectively are the ones I prefer to read.

Today, for my own curiosity only, I’d like you to participate in a poll:

(Note: If you choose Other, please elaborate in the comment section.)

 

~Nikki

8 thoughts on “What I Choose Is My Choice

  1. Pingback: Dark Have Been My Dreams Of Late | ravingmadscientists

  2. Pingback: Radical perhaps? « Davidrory's Blog

  3. I’m a complete book nerd also – I find books to be a wonderful joy. glad to hear you do too! 🙂
    If you’re interested in any other books to read, I’d recommend the author Sophie Littlefield. She’s written Aftertime and Rebirth as part of a trilogy, I believe.The books are post-apocalyptic in nature, but I really love the characters and the descriptions of the world the best. The main character is very flawed, but that makes her more real, I think. And the harsh nature of the world is just really well-written. The graphic descriptions made me think of The Walking Dead, but I really just like the construction of the post-apocalyptic world. I definitely recommend giving the books a try 🙂

    • Thanks! My “To Read” list is pretty long, but I will get to them! I’m really into this whole post-apocalyptic setting. Have you read “The Road” by Cormac MacCarthy? I strongly recommend it.

      Thanks!!
      ~N.

  4. I chose “Crime/Suspense Thriller” because it was the closest category that intrigues me for both literary and motion picture content. I think I am largely in the minority though, regardless of what this poll says.

  5. I chose other; I guess I’m with fantasy/sci fi. My favorite books include HP, Hitchhiker’s series, the Narnia’s, His Dark Materials…some could be considered YA, too, but those ones in particular I think have a broader audience. I DO enjoy YA too though–some of it, anyway, like the Georgia Nicolson diaries. Oh snap, and Animorphors–sci fi YA, read it as a kid, but when I found it in a box in my closet recently, I reread it–cried, still. When I find myself reading non-fiction, it’s usual something science related.

  6. This blog was an inspiring find. I have been struggling for a year with the genre battle. In the end a reader solved it by saying all my work was literary fiction. I had been avoiding that label for the reasons you mention here. Fear of being though pretentious or a snob.
    The thriller trappings of my Daniel Series confused me and I called them Romantic Thrillers but that always seem such a huge compromise. The Literary Fiction genre now feels comfortable and I certainly tend to read more in the category than any other… well no I read more non-fiction being a techno and science freak.
    Regards Davidrory.

Leave a Reply

