We Can’t Rewind We’ve Gone Too Far

*SPOILER ALERT*

In case you’ve been vacationing in the Alps this week, or hospitalized and in a coma, and you missed the season finale of The Sing-Off this past Monday, I’m here to tell you: PENTATONIX WON!!!  There has been no doubt in my mind for weeks now that they are the absolute best, but musical tastes are subjective, so it was with bated breath that I watched the last few minutes of the 2 hour-long final episode (in truth, I watched all 2 hours but one need only watch the last 30 seconds to get the point), hoping to have my own opinion confirmed.  And so it was.

Over the course of the season, Pentatonix consistently gave exceptionally riveting performances, with only a rare few that, while still quite good, did not completely blow me away.  Excluding those few, these are my favorites, listed from extremely good to impossibly perfect:

 

And the mother of all, probably one of the hardest songs in all 3 seasons to sing a cappella, done so ridonculously well…

I know I’ve talked incessantly about this group for the past few weeks (and rightfully so) but there were a great many others who gave outstanding performances.  Delilah gave not one, but two stand-out shows and the runner-up, The Dartmouth Aires, will probably be performing for us theater lovers on Broadway someday in the very near future.  I’m so glad Pentatonix won, but I’m sad I no longer have their Monday night excellence to look forward to every week. 😦

Hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

~Nikki

 

3 thoughts on “We Can’t Rewind We’ve Gone Too Far

  1. Monday night they’re doing a Christmas special where everyone is gonna belt out some Xmas standards. Of course it’s TWO HOURS as always. GOD FORBID they only air one hour shows. That’s my only complaint, really, about the entire show. “Love Lockdown” is so sick, I can’t get over it.

    • OH MY GOD!!! I can’t believe I left out the Marvin Gaye song! I am so sorry. That performance is a tie with “Love Lockdown” for the No. 2 spot!! Thank you, babe, for putting these in the comments. Their rendition of “Let’s Get It On” blew my freakin’ mind! And I love what Shawn had to say about it. I couldn’t agree more!
      -Nik

Leave a Reply

