I Cannot Stand The Way You Tease

What with The Hunger Games, The Dark Knight Rising and, of course, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey coming out this year, I feel hopeful that 2012 will be a banger year for cinematic entertainment.  Yesterday, Annie and I had the pleasure of watching Woman In Black, a surprisingly scary, dark and creepy film (Annie will post that review soon), and we saw a trailer for yet another promising flick due out in a few weeks.  Check it out:

Intrigued?  Yeah, me too.  I have not yet seen Martha Marcy May Marlene, but I’ve heard it’s a great watch and that in it, the younger sister of the Olsen twins is stellar.  A reputable actor always increases the likelihood of a good flick and the ‘Based on true events’ tag can be quite a hook as well.  But no matter true or fiction, even with a cast full of seemingly talentless nobodies, this trailer still would have sold me.  That tantalizing swell at 1:45 where it switches from eery, ominous tones to playing a soft albeit melancholy tune of the piano and mournful violin, all the while showing haunting images of a terror-stricken Elizabeth Olsen, that got me, hook, line and sinker.  And the entire film, apparently, is shown as one extended take.  An 88-minute long take?  Who’s ever heard of such a thing!

I also love that it isn’t clear whether the villain(s) is some sort of supernatural being or an actual person.  Is the house haunted?  Is there an intruder?  A gang of deranged psychopaths?  I can’t wait to find out!

See you at the movies.

~N.