I Just Can’t Get Enough

I admit there are many movies that I love so much, I’ll watch them over and over and over.  I’ve probably seen Pride & Prejudice more than a hundred times.  Dances With Wolves used to be practically a yearly event in my house.  Every time I happen to see The Shawshank Redemption on TV, I will watch it, even though I own it and have seen it countless times already.  There are some flicks I just can’t get enough of.  Which is why I understand those people out there who will pay theater prices to see a previously released movie again, now re-released in 3D.  Unlike my co-blogger, Titanic isn’t one such film for me, but I thought I’d share with you one film I adore so much, I wouldn’t think twice about paying to see it in the theater again, even without the added 3D visuals.  For me, each of the Lord Of The Rings films was so magical, so awe-inspiring up on the big screen, I’m sure I’d pay $10 to experience each of them all over again.  In particular, The Fellowship of the Ring.  I remember so vividly sitting in the theater, watching the Uruk-hai (those orc/human hybrid things) coming down that leaf-covered hill in the woods and literally sinking in my seat.  They were fearsome, so intimidating, I felt like if I’d have been standing beside Pippin, I would have dug a fucking hole in the earth just to make myself disappear.

And how I all but choked on the emotion following the fall of Gandalf, watching as the hobbits cried atop those mountainous rocks amidst the gorgeous backdrop of lush green forest – Jesus, that was intense.

More than anything, I loved the brief glimpse of Gollum, nothing but his humongous reflective eyes in the shadowy cave.  Gollum may just be my favorite character ever written.  I got chills at that little glimpse and could not wait for The Two Towers to get a good, proper look at him.

I feel that same anticipation now for The Hobbit.  In fact, at the end of the first teaser trailer for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, when I heard Gollum’s hissy voice, chills ran up my back.  I. LOVE. GOLLUM.  I doubt I’ll ever get to see The Fellowship Of The Ring on the big screen again, but it’s hard to feel too bad about that with Jackson’s upcoming adaption of The Hobbit looming ahead.  Seeing Riddles In The Dark adapted on screen is sure to be one of the greatest moments in cinematic history, especially with Martin Freeman playing Bilbo and Andy Serkis reprising his utterly perfect version of that wicked little creature.

~Nikki

5 thoughts on “I Just Can’t Get Enough

  1. For some reason I feel like I heard that one day the whole triology will be re-released in theaters… so perhaps you will have the opportunity to do this!!! God knows it’ll be worth it!!!!!
    ~A

  2. I feel ya. I cried when I first saw the Hobbit preview. Harry Potter was a definitive period for me, but it spanned like a decade. However, LotR is it’s own, neat little time frame during my high school years. I’m excited to see The Hobbit at midnight–I wasn’t able to see LotR for any midnight showings because I was too young to even have my license (I think I had it a few months before RotK but it was a school day and all). And I still have my Legolas pillowcase, of course.

  3. Oi. You might want to stay away from Snobbery when I force myself to watch the LotR movies after re-reading the books then. Just sayin’.

    • Does that mean you’ve never seen the LotR movies?!

      I think The Hobbit was the 1st chapter book I’ve ever read and the chapter called Riddles In The Dark (wherein lies the whole of Gollum’s appearance in that book) dazzled me then and dazzles me now. Tolkien nailed it.

      I read the LotR trilogy in high school and thought no way could anyone ever make a decent flick out of any one of them. Peter Jackson totally proved me wrong.

      I’m so psyched for Jackson’s The Hobbit, I can hardly contain myself.
      ~N.

      • Oh, I’ve seen them.

        I think the locations are gorgeous and the casting was well done, but the story changes (not even things that were left out, although the nixing of the Scouring of the Shire because he “didn’t like that part” is unforgivable, but the STUFF HE ADDED) and the way the characters either became caricatures of themselves, or behaved in completely different ways therefore altering the entire flow of the series…those are the reasons I hate them.

        I get all ragefacey and ranty when I talk about them and I’m going to make myself watch them again when we do the group read this summer.

        (You should TOTALLY join in on our group read! It’s going to start with the Hobbit on June 23, I’ll be posting a reading/discussion schedule soon.)

Leave a Reply

