Holla If You Hear Me

At work today, someone said to me: “You’ve got to be somewhat arrogant to even have a blog.”  This person does not know that I do have a blog and he, apparently, sees no use for blogs (or facebook or twitter).  Which I actually sort of understand.  To have a blog (or a fb page or a twitter account), you operate under the assumption that someone out in the world at large cares about the things you have to say.  Which is, perhaps, a bit arrogant.  That’s not to say, though, that everyone who blogs is an arrogant person.

I’ll admit here and now that I do not have a personal fb or twitter account. (gasp!) Before starting this blog, I’d never tweeted nor had I been on facebook.  And the reason for that is I never felt I had anything to say that others might want to read nor did I care to read anything that others tweeted or wrote on their wall.  But, unlike the vast majority of people on fb and twitter, I am not a particularly social person.  And, much more than arrogance, I think the use for such internet tools as blogs or fb stems from one’s inclination toward social interactions.  I enjoy reading some blogs as a way to learn new things (photography, travel and cooking blogs, for example) or simply for entertainment (humor, entertainment blogs).  More often than not, being the movie and book buff that I am, I just want to read reviews of movies and books, some that I have seen/read and about which I am interested in hearing what others think, and some I’ve not yet seen or read and would like to learn more about before diving in.

From my own experience and in my own personal opinion (which may not mean anything to you), I think facebook and twitter are social tools that allow anyone and everyone in the world to speak their mind.  Isn’t that what everyone wants – to be heard?  To feel validated by the act of someone else simply listening to you?  I think so.  What I’ve noticed, though, is that the masses don’t have anything in particular to say.  Or if they do, they’re not using facebook to say it.  Facebook is used for sharing trivial details like what you ate for dinner.  I’m not knocking people who do this because I’m sure at least one (and likely more than one) of their fb friends is interested in knowing what they ate for dinner.  But I’m not.  Again, I’m slightly anti-social.

But this idea of arrogance in relation to the use of social networking sites intrigues me.  In all honesty, I never thought I’d start a blog.  For a couple of years, I’d heard how funny and sharp and entertaining some blogs were but I never found any I felt an inclination to follow.  That is, not until I did.  Even now, there are a mere handful I faithfully follow.  And I have yet to create a personal fb or twitter account.  Facebook and twitter serve one specific purpose for me: to spread word about rms and anything related to it.  Arrogant?  Perhaps.  I guess I assume there are some people in the world who want to read my thoughts on books and movies and music only because that’s what I like to read about.  I suppose it is a bit arrogant.  But I’m okay with that.

Do you think arrogance drives people to blog?  Or to be on facebook?  Or tweet?  Be a little arrogant and leave your answer in a comment.

~Nikki

5 thoughts on “Holla If You Hear Me

  1. Blogs are great. Where else can you be an corrigible ass without consequence? Or incredibly intelligent and honest without judgement? If I berate my friends in real life, I get that look, the one where they would rather kill themselves than listen to another opinion. Of course there’s a thread of arrogance inherent in textually opining. Sometimes more than a thread. But then again, on the the Internet, nobody has to listen. They can click out. So, it’s amazing when you do connect with total strangers who might be willing to listen. And then contribute. And the conversation becomes something worthwhile. So, maybe a little arrogant. But it’s free of judgement. Nobody is required to read what you write and, if you make a connection, you’re all the better for it. I know for me it’s a much needed outlet. If people care to check it out and enjoy it, awesome. I’m just saving my real friends the horror of being trapped in a car with me after watching a terrible movie.

    • BRAVO I AM CLAPPING OUT LOUD. Honestly, can we try dating??? Like, I think I love you. “Of course there’s a thread of arrogance inherent in textually opining. ” I just love this.
      ~Annie

  2. As big of a misanthrope as I am, for me, social media is about connecting with others. BUT not necessarily people that I know IRL. I think we are rather restricted with who we come into contact to in our day-to-day lives. But on the internet, we can find–rather easily–people who care about the same things as we do. I have met people on the internet that I physically could not IRL, and I’m really thankful for it. And it’s fun to have a community of people with which I can talk about all the stuff I love, but don’t have a social outlet for IRL. I think that’s also why I’m drawn to Tumblr. Like I said in my post about it on here, it’s social BUT it’s driven by your interests, and that’s what I love.

  3. It is just an outlet. I blog to discuss things that do not come up often in conversation, share things I think others may find useful.
    Maybe it is selfish to keep insights and artwork to yourself?

Leave a Reply

