Music Making Me Lose It

Hello citizens of the internet, X here. I was asked on some seriously short notice to write a post this week in place of Nikki, for whatever reason (nobody tells me anything around here). I’ve spent the past couple months or so sweating profusely and fulfilling relentless social obligations, so I haven’t had any deep entertainment-related thoughts that I can conjure up and share with you. But no matter how much of my brain power is robbed from me via endless human contact or the melting fires of the sun, I will always be jamming to new tunes. Seriously, I added 20 GB of music to my iPod in the past year…that’s TEN IPOD SHUFFLES, folks. Since we’re now past the halfway point of 2012, I decided to share with you my favorite albums of the year so far. If you read the blog regularly, you’ll already know about one of these, thanks to Annie–but I was the one who told her about that album in the first place, so I think it’s high time that I do this post, and share with you all the other glorious music I try to tell Annie about but she doesn’t pay attention to.

I shall be using Spotify to embed each album for your listening pleasure and ease. If you don’t have Spotify, do yo self a favor and get it!

School of Seven Bells – Ghostory
Release Date: 2/28/12
First song I heard: Scavenger, thanks to an iTunes freebie.
Favorite: Lafaye

I don’t know how to describe this, other than “good.” Also I’m pretty sure #5 is Tron with lyrics, no joke.

spotify:album:4YiInHo3nbnLoYtLkt6ZoD

Marina and the Diamonds – Electra Heart
Release Date: 7/10/12 for all you American fools, 30/4/12 for Brits or those who wish they were
First song I heard: Radioactive (released last summer, actually)
Favorite: Lonely Hearts Club? Shut up, don’t make me pick one.

This is Marina’s second album, and it’s just as good as her stellar first. It’s electropop with depth. You will dance, but you will think whilst you do.

Let’s talk about shit that pisses me off for a minute: differences between UK and US releases. You can view them here if you’d like, but all I’ll say is this: I hate when I have to jump through hoops to obtain music just because of where I live, why do there have to be differences between countries, it is GOOD MUSIC so why didn’t you just put it on the US release too, and I want to move to the UK. And that is all I have to say about that.

I’ve linked the Spotify album below, which is the US release, but the missing UK tracks are Living Dead, Lonely Hearts Club, and Buy the Stars.

spotify:album:5N1aNUXaHDD7YsjhbCM9JZ

Santigold – Master of My Make-Believe
Release Date: 5/1/12
First song I heard: Go!
Favorite: God From the Machine

Annie has said all that there is to be said about this album, so I’ll make an attempt at brevity and just link that here.

Walk the Moon – Walk the Moon
Release Date: 6/15/12
First song I heard: Anna Sun
Favorite: Jenny

Indie happy dancey lovely. I don’t think they could be any catchier if they tried. Sometimes they remind me of Two Door Cinema Club, but maybe I’m on crack. At the first listen, this CD had my heart. Well, all of these albums did, really. That’s why they’re on this list!

spotify:album:1QhonXpNQq8wrGEKX0ofbk

Purity Ring – Shrines
Release Date: 7/24/12
First song I heard: Lofticries (also released last summer)
Favorite: Saltkin

You know, I don’t know why everyone makes fun of Canada all the time, they make great music! This is some shimmering, dark, dense, beautiful electronic music. The closest thing I can think of to compare it with is The Xx, in that it’s at times sparse yet paradoxically full of emotion.

spotify:album:7ppypgQppMf3mkRbZxYIFM

4 thoughts on “Music Making Me Lose It

Leave a Reply

