On the Surface I’m A Name On A List

Dave Matthews Band and the Allman Brothers in Atlanta, 2008

As I love lists and going to concerts, you know I’ve got a file saved with a list of every show I’ve ever seen. (#OCDnerdALERT) True story: About 10 years ago, the list was an awesomely detailed and hilarious Excel file with descriptions of everything you could imagine. Who I went with, where it was, the date, a rating system (!); even threw in if I got a freaking concert tee or not. Sheesh. Then, suddenly, X, in all of her infinite summa cum laude wisdom, decided to wipe my parents’ computer clean without telling anybody. So, I’ve had to pieces-parts put the thing back together again, and in recently updating it with the addition of the lovely Mumford & Sons show, I did a quick count and realized I have officially seen 90 live concerts!!! To commemorate this huge milestone in my life, I give you, a list of every show I’ve ever seen, divided by genre (sort of, as figuring out how to classify this stuff made my head spin).

~Annie

Oldies

  • James Taylor
  • Billy Joel & Elton John
  • Neil Diamond
  • Paul McCartney
  • Chicago with America
  • Chicago with Earth, Wind, & Fire
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Chad & Jeremy
  • Lesley Gore with Lou Christie
  • Herman’s Hermits
  • a local radio station concert featuring: The Grass Roots, The Animals, The Spinners, Young Rascals, and America
  • Eddie Money
  • Allman Brothers Band

Country

  • Keith Urban
  • Kenny Chesney with Rascal Flatts and Uncle Kracker
  • Reba McEntire with Brad Paisley

Festivals

  • Me, draped in a poncho, holding up the ACL ball

    The Rolling Rock Town Fair V (2004) featuring: Staind, Velvet Revolver, Disturbed, N*E*R*D, Hoobastank, The Crystal Method, Sevendust, Three Days Grace, Finger Eleven,

  • Ozzfest 2003 featuring: Ozzy Osbourne, Korn, Marilyn Manson, Distrubed, Chevelle
  • Austin City Limits 2009 featuring: Kings of Leon, Phoenix, The Knux, The Walkmen, Dave Matthews Band, Flogging Molly, Bon Iver, Bell X1, Pearl Jam, The Dead Weather, Passion Pit, White Lies (and about 75 other acts that I couldn’t see due to logistics of dragging my ass through miles and miles of mud – too bad I didn’t have this blog then, THAT would have been a post)
  • a local radio station pop show featuring: Mandy Moore and for the life of me I cannot remember anyone else; they were all little pop one-hit wonders. :/


My brief Christian music phase

  • Michael W. Smith (first concert, EVER!)
  • Jars of Clay with Jennifer Knapp
  • Michael W. Smith with Point of Grace

Rock and Pop

  • Pearl Jam (6 times)
  • Dave Matthews Band (32 times – my earlier count was wrong!)
  • Creed with 3 Doors Down
  • Disturbed with Ten Years
  • Oasis with Jet
  • Lostprophets
  • Third Eye Blind
  • Matchbox 20 with Train
  • Third Eye Blind with Splendor and Vertical Horizon
  • Lifehouse
  • Goo Goo Dolls
  • Goo Goo Dolls with Fastball
  • Linkin Park
  • Luscious Jackson with Smashmouth
  • John Mayer
  • John Mayer with Guster
  • Celine Dion
  • Phoenix
  • Sarah McLachlan with Butterfly Boucher
  • Tori Amos with Ben Folds
  • Idina Menzel
  • Nelly Furtado
  • Matchbox 20
  • Goo Goo Dolls with Third Eye Blind and Vanessa Carlton
  • Lights (3 times, once with Owl City, once with Ambassadors, and once alone)
  • Band of Horses with Brad
  • The Swell Season with Mark Dignam
  • Passion Pit with Mayor Hawthorne
  • Florence + the Machine with The Walkmen
  • Mumford & Sons
5 thoughts on “On the Surface I’m A Name On A List

    • Oh MY GOD… Passion Pit is incredible live. The energy is just off the charts. I’ve seen them twice, once at Austin City Limits, and once headlining at House of Blues. Some of the most exhausting concerts I’ve ever gone to, as you spend almost the entire time jumping up and down in throngs of people. Sweat, sweat, sweat. I literally could not breathe. But I’d go again in a second!!!! Do you have both of their albums??

  1. Sadly, I was not summa. I was merely cum laude. I was .01 from being magna though, which really pissed me off. Summa was rather far away though. But yeah, that was my first hard reformat…I don’t think I fully understood what was going to happen haha.
    Seeing you use the word “milestone” made me think of something–I think I noticed a thing on Facebook timeline where like you can post an important life event, which I know everyone mainly uses for silly things like getting married and having babies, BUT YOU SHOULD TOTALLY MAKE A MILESTONE FOR 90 concerts!

Leave a Reply

