Sick Day

I hate being sick.  Feeling like death, drained of energy, unable to work up enough gumption to go to the bathroom let alone actually accomplish something.  It sucks.  Unfortunately, there isn’t much to do but stay horizontal and ride it out.  Put on that handful of movies you’ve seen so many times, you could practically recite them verbatim and wait for your immune system to kick whatever microbe it’s battling.  The list itself varies a bit but here’s a representative sample of what I like to watch when all I can do is open my eyes:

The Breakfast Club, There are so many quotable lines here but if I had to pick a favorite, I might go with: “Impossible sir.  It’s in Johnson’s underwear.” -John Bender in reference to his bag of pot.

Willow, When Val Kilmer was thin and brunette and way before Warwick Davis ever met Ricky Gervais, they had this awesome exchange:           Willow: “See this acorn? I’ll throw it at you and turn you to stone.”                                           Madmartigan: “Ooh, I’m really scared. No! Don’t! There’s a- a peck here with an acorn pointed at me!”

A Life Less Ordinary, Best line comes courtesy of Judith Ivey: “Remember my dear, they only want one thing.  Maybe they want it more than once, but it’s still only one thing.”

Moulin Rouge!, Though rife with quotable dialogue, the music here totally steals the show.  “El Tango De Roxeanne” is my favorite.

Drop Dead Fred, My sister and I might be the only 2 people ever to have seen this flick and liked it, but honestly, how can I not with lines like this: “Let’s play PIRATES!!  We’ll cut off our legs and glue on wooden ones!”

Fever Pitch, Best line?  Nearly every one that comes out of Jimmy Fallon’s mouth.

High Fidelity, There’s nothing more comforting than a wordy John Cusack rant.  Case in point: “What came first, the music or the misery? People worry about kids playing with guns, or watching violent videos, that some sort of culture of violence will take them over.  Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands, literally thousands of songs about heartbreak, rejection, pain, misery and loss.  Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable?  Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?”

What do you watch when you’re too sick to get out of bed?

~Nikki

One thought on “Sick Day

Leave a Reply

