Tell Me How You Like It

You may have heard (or read) me mention that I happen to work with a group of people who are all significantly older than I.  I’m not necessarily a spring chicken, but the next youngest person at my current place of employment has got a full 20 years on me.  And not only that, they generally seem to act old, even for their age.  There is a noticeable disdain toward technology, which leads me to today’s topic: eReaders.

I’ll admit I was hesitant to jump on the bandwagon simply because it seemed an extra expense, a luxury that didn’t merit its cost in my household.  (I still feel this way about the iPad.  A cool new toy?  Sure.  But what can it do that my laptop and my hubby’s smart phone can’t?)  I did eventually buy a Kindle and in all honesty, I kind of love it.  Allow me to clarify: I read a lot and I certainly have not forsaken my beloved paperback.  But the eReader has its place.  I also travel any chance I get and the Kindle makes reading on an airplane exponentially easier, especially since I’m often reading more than one book at a time and it saves me the cumbersome task of stuffing my carry-on with multiple books or the nearly impossible chore of choosing just one (a choice I will, inevitably, regret).  Not to mention it is sublimely easy to delete a book that I have no desire to read again, which, unfortunately, covers the majority of them.  No old, long-unopened books cluttering up the shelves, collecting dust.

On the other hand, the books I do fall in love with, the ones I want to read over and over until every word is committed to memory, until their spines break and the pages feel onion skin-thin beneath my finger tips, those books I buy genuine paperback copies of.  In a way, the eReader has made the paper book that much more valuable.  I only buy one if it’s a book I love, like a prize.  The paper book has become precious, reserved for those words I so adore, I need a physical copy of them in my home.

I know many who disagree, who feel there is no way to read other than to hold a book in your hands, turning the pages as you go, straining your eyes in the dark, cherishing every little coffee stain for the memory it invokes.  Some who feel books just aren’t real if they aren’t made of paper.  Which, of course, leads me to this month’s poll.  I want to know how you, dear readers, feel about the format of your reading material.

~Nikki

4 thoughts on “Tell Me How You Like It

  1. I am sort of a mixed bag here. I can’t say anything definitively because I do not have an e-reader, so I feel like I can’t develop a truly informed opinion. I WILL say, though, that I can NOT read on a back-lit screen. If I were to ever e-read, it’d have to be a Kindle because of the e-ink business. Part of me sometimes wants one; but another part of me doesn’t want a million electronic devices so meh. I need a tablet that can convert from backlit to e-ink.

  2. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good, real book and on special occassions I will make book purchases for my little bookcase – reserved for only the best. But I love technology and am likely to be updating my old school kindle to the brand spanking new one. As above, who cares how someone is reading and why does it matter.

  3. I use my reader almost exclusively now. The only time I read paper books anymore are when it’s something not available digitally. I get through books faster (because it’s easier to just pick it up and read for five minutes at a time) and since I have issues with my hands, they’re a godsend.

    I kind of feel like the people who are adamantly ANTI-ereader come across as fetishists when they talk about why BOOKS are superior. I really don’t care what/how you’re reading as long as you’re READING. I don’t talk shit about HOW you’re reading, why should you denigrate my choice to carry over 200 books with me everywhere I go? Who’s going to have the last laugh when the last page of a book is turned on a flight? The person stuck with the SkyMall catalogue, or the person with her next 20 books all queued up?

Leave a Reply

