Where Was My Fault In Loving You With My Whole Heart?

Maybe this has never happened to you.  Maybe you have perfectly appropriate, clearly defined boundaries.  Maybe you’re able to appreciate what you’ve got while you have it without pining for more.  Good for you.  I, on the other hand, am one greedy monkey.  When I find something I like, I want to hold on to it.  I want to relish in it.  I want to stretch out my time with it, make it last as long as possible.  Maybe you don’t know that place, but it’s a place I’ve come to frequent so often, I might as well buy some drapes and call it home.  Thanks to countless creative minds and a handful of talented actors, I visit that place several times a week.  Allow me to introduce to you five “guest” characters I’ve become so fond of, I can’t bear to think of them as temporary:

Ray Romano as Hank Rizzoli, ParenthoodI am, truly, a fan of the adorable Jason Ritter, who has played the love interest of Lauren Graham’s Sarah Braverman for a couple of seasons.  And while I do think they make one damned cute couple, I have come to prefer the cantankerous Hank Rizzoli as her suitor.  He’s a little older but Sarah is such a spastic, whimsical thing, I think his stern introspective nature would compliment her chaotic personality, be the yin to her yang and allow her to grow and embrace adulthood with a seriousness she lacks but sorely needs.

Joan Cusack as Sheila Jackson, ShamelessCusack has blown me away as the emotionally unstable, sexually deviant girlfriend of Frank Gallagher for two full seasons and, sadly, judging by the turn of events surrounding her character at last season’s close, she’ll likely not join the cast for the upcoming third season.  I’m not typically an advocate for flimsy, convenient plot lines just for the sake of keeping a character around, but Cusack’s bold, hilarious performance brought such joy and raucous humor to the show, it’s hard to imagine it without her.

Zachary Quinto as Dr. Oliver Thredson, American Horror StoryIt’s hard to say how large a part Quinto will have in this current season of AHS but he’s listed as “guest star” in the credits, which makes me fearful that his Dr. Thredson will soon die at Bloody Face’s maniacal hands.  I sincerely hope not, since his delicious portrayal of the catty interior decorator ghost last season was one of the show’s highlights.

Chloe Sevigny as Shelley, AHSTruth be told, imprisoned nymphomaniac Shelley has had the least amount of character development, the worst lines and the most unfortunate haircut of all of AHS: asylum’s characters thus far, but, because Sevigny is such an absurdly skilled actor, I still like Shelley and want her to stick around in the hopes that the writers will improve her dialogue and give her a story line worthy of Sevigny’s talent.

Rupert Friend as Peter Quinn, HomelandProbably my favorite on this list, Friend has, in two episodes, become such a key player and an enigmatic force on Homeland that I’m not only hoping for a lengthy run for him, I’d really like to see him and Claire Danes’ character, Carrie Mathison, develop a relationship beyond the professional.  Both Quinn and Carrie are whip-smart, bull-headed and seemingly volatile.  Add to that each actor’s ability to steal a scene and I think a complicated, charged relationship between the two would make this show even more heart-poundingly intense.

~Nikki

Leave a Reply

