Through the Forest, Down to Your Grave – SPOILER FREE!

Source: Wikipedia

The Cabin in the Woods is the kind of film where it helps if you know nothing about it. Which is why, in this review, I’m not going to ruin anything for you, cause you deserve to have a pristine experience. If you’ve seen it already, and just want to read thoughts on the actual plot, tomorrow we’re going to post X’s spoiler-FULL review. She was super eager to write about it because she was literally bursting with SQUEEE!!!!! when the credits started to roll. We thought, since this was such a unique movie, it deserved a unique take on the review-side.

This will probably be one of the easier reviews I’ve ever written, just because I refuse to discuss any plot details, or even any of the characters, to any great length.  All I feel safe saying is what you’ve seen on any trailer: Group of typical college kids (your regular archetypes) go on a road-trip party weekend to a cabin in the woods, drinking, sex, and gore ensues.

Appearances can be deceiving, because this is the least “typical” horror/slasher flick I’ve seen in, shit, I have no idea how long. Every time I thought I had things figured out, I was surprised, again and again. The twists and turns kept punching me in the face, and I was glad to take ’em. The performances are (mostly) fresh and fun, the writing is sharp and we genuinely laughed out loud, really hard, many times. The harbingers of awesome, Joss Whedon (Buffy, Avengers, Toy Story, Serenity, Firefly) and Drew Goddard (Cloverfield, Lost) have brought this gift of originality and delight to us, and we give thanks. Many thanks.

If you still haven’t heard much about this one, consider yourself lucky and act quickly on your current virginal status. Go get that cherry popped – now – because you may not have this much fun at a film for years to come. I seriously freaking mean that.

~Annie

4 thoughts on “Through the Forest, Down to Your Grave – SPOILER FREE!

  1. Pingback: Another Year Gone: Favorites of 2012 | ravingmadscientists

  2. Pingback: Go On, Have A Good Time | ravingmadscientists

  3. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 05/09/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  4. Pingback: In That Tiny Kind of Scary House, By the Woods, By the Woods, By the Woods, By the Woods – SPOILER FULL! | ravingmadscientists

Leave a comment